

Province of Alberta

No. 29

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

Fourth Session

Twenty-Seventh Legislature

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

The Speaker took the Chair at 1:30 p.m.

Members' Statements

Mr. Bhullar, Hon. Member for Calgary-Montrose, made a statement regarding a grade six class from Roland Michener School watching live proceedings of the Legislative Assembly from their Calgary classroom.

Dr. Sherman, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Meadowlark, made a statement regarding government accountability.

Mr. Xiao, Hon. Member for Edmonton-McClung, made a statement recognizing April 27, 2011, as the Canadian Cancer Society's Daffodil Day.

Mr. Anderson, Hon. Member for Airdrie-Chestermere, made a statement regarding the need for democratic reform in Alberta.

Mr. Johnston, Hon. Member for Calgary-Hays, made a statement recognizing April 2011 as Parkinson's Awareness Month.

Mr. Johnson, Hon. Member for Athabasca-Redwater, made a statement regarding solutions to issues along Highway 63 and the work of volunteer firefighters.

Introduction of Bills (First Reading)

Notice having been given:

Bill 18 Education Act — Hon. Mr. Hancock

Tabling Returns and Reports

Hon. Mr. Snelgrove, Minister of Finance and Enterprise, pursuant to the Insurance Act, cI-3, s655(2):

Alberta Automobile Insurance Rate Board, 2010 Annual Report, for the year ended December 31, 2010

Sessional Paper 349/2011

Ms Pastoor, Hon. Member for Lethbridge-East, on behalf of Dr. Swann, Hon. Leader of the Official Opposition:

Court of Queen's Bench Statement of Claim dated May 8, 2009, between Alan B.R. Thomson and the Governors of the University of Alberta, the University of Alberta Hospital, Alberta Health Services, Sander van Zanten and Jon Meddings Sessional Paper 350/2011

Mr. Chase, Hon. Member for Calgary-Varsity:

25 recent e-mail messages from Canadians to Mr. Chase, Hon. Member for Calgary-Varsity, urging the protection of the Castle Special Management Area Sessional Paper 351/2011

ORDERS OF THE DAY

Government Motions

15. Oral notice having been given April 26, 2011, moved by Hon. Mr. Denis on behalf of Hon. Mr. Hancock:

Be it resolved that when further consideration of Bill 10, Alberta Land Stewardship Amendment Act, 2011, is resumed, not more than five hours shall be allotted to any further consideration of the Bill in Committee of the Whole, at which time every question necessary for the disposal of the Bill at this stage shall be put forthwith.

Pursuant to Standing Order 21(3), Hon. Mr. Denis and Mr. MacDonald commented on the time allocation motion.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to. With Hon. Mr. Kowalski in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 28

Drysdale Ady Marz Elniski Allred Ouellette Benito Fritz Prins Goudreau Rodney Berger Bhullar Groeneveld Rogers Campbell Hayden Sarich Johnston Cao Snelgrove Danyluk Liepert VanderBurg Denis Lukaszuk Webber

Doerksen

Against the motion: 5

Anderson Forsyth MacDonald

Chase Hinman

Government Bills and Orders

Committee of the Whole

According to Order, the Assembly resolved itself into Committee of the Whole and the Speaker left the Chair.

(Assembly in Committee)

The following Bill was taken under consideration:

Bill 17 Appropriation Act, 2011 (\$) — Hon. Mr. Snelgrove

A debate followed.

Hon. Mr. Denis moved adjournment of the debate, which was agreed to. With Mr. Cao at the Table, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 26

Ady Elniski Marz Allred Fritz McQueen Benito Goudreau Prins Berger Groeneveld Renner Bhullar Hayden Rodney Danyluk Johnston Rogers Knight Sarich Denis Liepert Doerksen VanderBurg

Drysdale Lukaszuk

Against the motion: 6

Chase Hinman Notley Forsyth MacDonald Swann

Adjournment

Pursuant to Standing Order 4(4), the Committee recessed at 6:00 p.m. until 7:30 p.m.

WEDNESDAY, APRIL 27, 2011 — 7:30 P.M.

Government Bills and Orders

Committee of the Whole

(Assembly in Committee)

And after sometime spent therein, pursuant to Standing Order 64(4), at 10:15 p.m., the Chair interrupted the proceedings and immediately put the question on the Appropriation Bill standing on the Order Paper referred to Committee of the Whole.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

The Acting Speaker assumed the Chair.

The following Bill was reported:

Bill 17 Appropriation Act, 2011 (\$) — Hon. Mr. Snelgrove

Progress was reported on the following Bill:

Bill 10 Alberta Land Stewardship Amendment Act, 2011 (\$) — Hon. Mr. Knight

Mr. Fawcett, Acting Chair of Committees, tabled copies of all amendments considered by Committee of the Whole on this date for the official records of the Assembly.

Amendment to Bill 10 (A1) (Hon. Member for Airdrie-Chestermere) — Defeated

Sessional Paper 352/2011

Amendment to Bill 10 (A2) (Hon. Member for Edmonton-Centre on behalf of the Hon. Member for Edmonton-Gold Bar) — Defeated

Sessional Paper 353/2011

Amendment to Bill 10 (A3) (Hon. Member for Calgary-Currie) — Defeated Sessional Paper 354/2011

Amendment to Bill 10 (A4) (Hon. Member for Calgary-Glenmore) — Defeated

Sessional Paper 355/2011

Committee of the Whole

According to Order, the Assembly resolved itself into Committee of the Whole and the Acting Speaker left the Chair.

(Assembly in Committee)

The following Bill was taken under consideration:

Alberta Land Stewardship Amendment Act, 2011 (\$) — Hon. Mr. Knight

Pursuant to Government Motion 15 agreed to on April 27, 2011, and Standing Order 21(1), at 11:30 p.m. the question was immediately put on the clauses of Bill 10, Alberta Land Stewardship Amendment Act, 2011 (\$), which was agreed to. With Mr. Mitzel at the Table, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 26

Ady Goudreau Prins Allred Groeneveld Renner Benito Knight Rodney Bhullar Leskiw Rogers Campbell Liepert Sarich Denis Lukaszuk Tarchuk Drysdale VanderBurg Marz Elniski McOueen Webber Fawcett Olson

Against the motion: 8

Anderson Pastoor Kang Blakeman MacDonald Taylor Hinman Notley

And after some time spent therein, the Acting Speaker resumed the Chair.

The following Bill was reported:

Alberta Land Stewardship Amendment Act, 2011 (\$) — Hon. Mr. Knight

Mr. Fawcett, Acting Chair of Committees, tabled copies of an amendment considered by Committee of the Whole on this date for the official records of the Assembly.

Amendment to Bill 10 (A5) (Hon. Member for Calgary-Currie) — Defeated Sessional Paper 356/2011

Third Reading

The following Bills were read a Third time and passed:

- Bill 4 Securities Amendment Act, 2011 Mr. Fawcett on behalf of Dr. Brown
- Bill 5 Notice to the Attorney General Act Mr. Rogers

Adjournment

On motion by Hon. Mr. Renner, Deputy Government House Leader, the Assembly adjourned at 11:51 p.m. until Thursday, April 28, 2011, at 1:30 p.m.

Hon. Ken Kowalski, Speaker

Title: Wednesday, April 27, 2011